Welcome to Plant Vascular Biology 2019!

You are invited to the Fifth International Conference on Plant Vascular Biology (PVB2019), 17 – 20 June 2019 at the historic Asilomar Conference Grounds, California, USA. The conference brings together over 150 scientists from around the world to discuss exciting breakthroughs in plant vascular biology and to create bridges between basic and applied research.

The meeting will provide important opportunities to exchange novel research on the evolution, development, structure, biochemistry and physiology of xylem and phloem. The scope will also encompass loading and unloading mechanisms, regulation of transport, and short and long distance signaling in relation to environmental responses.

A theme of the conference is to highlight the many ways that plant vascular biology intersects with critical problems in agriculture and forestry, such as drought stress, nutrient uptake and utilization, and productivity. A primary goal of the conference is to foster integrated collaborative research using new technologies to make advances into both basic and applied problems surrounding plant vascular biology. 

This collegial conference will connect leaders in the field of plant vascular biology, early career researchers and the agriculture industry, and provide a stimulating and supportive forum for the development of new research directions and interdisciplinary collaborations.

In addition to presentations by the invited speakers, 24 talks will be selected from submitted abstracts. We also offer numerous travel awards for U.S. attendees from diverse backgrounds.

Online registration is now open. Please, book your lodging via our website.

We hope to see you in June!

Local Organizing Committee

Siobhan Brady, University of California, Davis, sbrady@ucdavis.edu

Andrew Groover, US Forest Service, Davis, agroover@fs.fed.us

Mechthild Tegeder, Washington State University, Pullman, tegeder@wsu.edu

International Advisory Board

  • Christine Beveridge, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Annelie Carlsbecker, University of Uppsala, Sweden  
  • Taku Demura, NAIST and RIKEN, Japan  
  • Sylvie Dinant, INRA Centre de Versailles-Grignon, France
  • Thomas Greb, University of Heidelberg, Germany
  • Rainer Hedrich, University of Würzburg, Germany
  • Michele Holbrook, Harvard University, USA
  • Ji-Young Lee, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Mengzhu Lu, Chinese Academy of Forestry, China
  • William J Lucas, University California, Davis, USA 
  • Yi-Fang Tsay, Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Confirmed Invited Speakers

  • Yoselin Benitez-Alfonso, University of Leeds, UK
  • Tessa Burch-Smith, University of Tennessee, USA
  • Annelie Carlsbecker, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Juan Du, Zhejiang University, China
  • Ted Farmer, University of Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Peter Etchells, Durham University, UK
  • Christine Faulkner, John Innes Centre, UK
  • Ykä Helariutta, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Rainer Hedrich, University of Würzburg, Germany
  • Missy Holbrook, Harvard University, USA
  • Michael Knoblauch, Washington State University, USA
  • Fritz Kragler, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology, Germany
  • Chun-Ming Liu, Chinese Academy of Sciences Beijing, China
  • Jarmila Pitterman, University of California Santa Cruz, USA
  • Yong-Ling Ruan, University of Newcastle, Australia
  • Kathy Steppe, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Siobhan Brady, University of California Davis, USA
  • Uwe Sonnewald, University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • Antia Villalon-Rodriguez, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Satoko Yoshida, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan